Honda Rincon Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hello Rincon owners Im new to the page but have a question
I have a 03 that seems to be in limp mode meaning it starts and idles fine but will only go about 20MPH I took it to my dealer and they said it needed a new CAM the lobes were worn down, 1400.00 later got it home and rattled inside. called them up and took it back and when I got home same thing..no rattle but no top speed. took it back to same dealer and they said it sucked the air filter, strange but ok. got it home and guess what? still no high end speed or power. Any ideas what I should look for. also changed out the carb and no luck.

·
Super Moderator
6,832 Posts
How can the dealer let you take it if it is not functioning? Take it back and don’t press them. Take it for a ride B4 you leave their lot. They owe you if you paid for the job. The 03 had an O Ring issue. They fail, the result is low/no oil pressure Did the dealer do an oil pressure test on all 4 ports? 1st what error codes or “blinks” is it flashing?

·
Premium Member
2011 Rincon 680 FA and all stock except for 1 1/2 inch lift for 26 inch tires 5-2 custom rim offset.
15 Posts
How can the dealer let you take it if it is not functioning? Take it back and don’t press them. Take it for a ride B4 you leave their lot. They owe you if you paid for the job. The 03 had an O Ring issue. They fail, the result is low/no oil pressure Did the dealer do an oil pressure test on all 4 ports? 1st what error codes or “blinks” is it flashing?
You would think that someone from that honda shop would have tested it out after that kind of work, when I take my Harley to a dealer the one that worked on it, even if it was just an oil change would take it for a ride for 15 minutes or more.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
I would hope they did but did not take it over 20 MPH I'm leery about taking it back to them but I'm invested with the repair with them

·