Honda Rincon Forum banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone,
I’m pretty new to the Rincon world. I’ve had foreman’s for years. I’m having trouble with my 04 660 Rincon

I recently replaced the stator, starter, starter clutch. Had it running real well.
the other day it was sitting idling to warm up when it stalled out. Now it won’t start. I have great spark & fuel is being delivered. I even swapped carbs of my friends running machine to be sure. It won’t fire at all. Even with starting fluid. Just gives a good backfire after a bit.
I pulled the engine out again and was thinking maybe the timing chain jumped. Does that seem logical? I would think it would just run poorly though.
Has anyone come across this situation before? I don’t want to tear the motor down if there is something less intrusive.
Thank you for listening to my problem
Alex

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thank you, I’ll try the plug in another machine. Is there anyway to check timing with the motor on the bench? The manual says I need it running but...
I hope it is just a plug. I pulled the head off last night but stopped and thought I’d ask people who know before I went any further as the chain seems to have ample tension so it didn’t look broke or anything

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Well, I’ve ruled out the plug now as well as the plug boot. I didn’t realize it had an NGK plug boot like some sled had in the day. I swapped both the plug & the boot onto a running Rincon and it ran fine with both

·
Registered
75 Posts
To confirm its not electrical connect the plug but lay it on the motor and observe the spark as you turn it over.

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
To confirm its not electrical connect the plug but lay it on the motor and observe the spark as you turn it over.