Honda Rincon Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Premium Member
6,768 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just want to make certain that im clear on this...

when Im pulling hard WOT, and I let off the throttle completley, if I hear the backfire, afterburn, popping etc... thats a lean condition correct ?

now, what if Im pretty well all the way out on the A/F ?

I just put in the DJ #150 and the stock pilot (just monkeying around with jetting)

I have the A/F out about 3.5 turns 'ish... and it backfires, so I need to go to the next size up in pilot correct ? a bigger jet will give me more volume of fuel, so I should be able to richen it up a little more... correct ?

can someone clarify that the backfireing is in fact a lean condition ?

·
Registered
732 Posts
Ive been told it's a lean condition, but I'm no mechanic to say for sure. Can't you just go by your sparkplug?

·
Premium Member
6,768 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
pulling out the sparkplug is both not practical and not worth the bother... the fuel where I live is so full of detergents and additives, my plug doesnt foul till I have it so rich its belching black smoke...

·
Premium Member
3,621 Posts
Yes from what I have seen it is lean, if you can't get it to stop with the A/F screw I would try a larger pilot jet.

·
Registered
409 Posts
The Pilot Jet is the low speed jet. If it is doing it at WOT, it wouldn't be related to the pilot jet.

·
Premium Member
6,768 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Duramax, its happening when I let off from WOT... not at or on WOT

so after pinning it to some top end speed, and letting off WOT, as the engine compression slows me down, thats where im hearing the afterburn pops...so, with no throttle pressed, this is the pilot circuit no ?

·
Registered
130 Posts