Honda Rincon Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I finally took my chirping rincon to my dealer and they were able to find and fix the problem. According to my dealer, the problem is a non beveled thrush washer. Apparently honda made two different types of washers and the non beveled ones make this noise. I didn't want to believe it at first, but having my rincon back and hearing it purr without the noise is enough for me. I am not sure where on or in the engine this washer is located, but they told me they had to get into the crank case to fix it. I am not a mechanic by any means, so I don't ask a lot of questions. I just thought I would pass this info along to the others out there with chirping rincons. If anyone wants to know details, I can contact my dealer and find out specifics for you.

·
Registered
322 Posts
My friends Rincon does it ALL THE TIME. Seems like it takes FOREVER for that stupid ass thing to stop the retarded whirlling noise. Mine barely does it, lately it hasn't done it at all. The washer you are talking about has to be located in the crankcase, probably somewhere in or near the torque converter.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I guess you could call it a whirring noise. Mine made a distinct chirping or whistling noise when the throttle was opened and closed and lasted for about 5 to 10 seconds after. It sounded almost like a bad bearing noise. And it went away after the engine warmed up. Here is the part number of the washer the honda shop gave me. (Honda Part Number: 90401-HM7-000) If anyone finds out exactly what this washer is for and where it located, I would be interested in knowing.

·
Registered
84 Posts