Honda Rincon Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Premium Member
180 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This may be a silly question but I am a novice when working on the machine. Had the front end off the ground this weekend doing some maintenance and noticed that the front wheels don't "free spin" as I had expected. I had it in 2wd, no parking brake, etc. Felt like I was turning the differential gears. Is this normal?

Thanks for the help.

·
Registered
371 Posts
Did you recently adjust the brakes? I think what your feeling is the drag on the brake shoes. If you havn't adjusted the brakes in a while, it would probably be a good idea to check the adjustment. I believe the adjustment procedure is in the owners manual.

·
Premium Member
180 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Picky,

Thanks for the input but it is not the brakes. When I turn one tire, the other one turns as well like I am turning gears. Not easy to turn either -- there is resistence there.

·
Registered
807 Posts
There are no lockout hubs (these disengage the wheels from the axles) on the Rincon like you might find on full size 4WD's, thus the wheels are always engaged to the front axles & differential. When in 2wd, you are turning the wheels and axles through the front differential, but without the driving force from the engine/ trans. When you engage 4wd then the transmission engages the front drive shaft and drives the front wheels. However the Rincon does not really have 4wd. The front differential will direct the power to the wheel that has least traction or is spinning (problem with common differential). Only the installation of a locker will provide true 4wd.

·
Registered
25 Posts
SXFlyer how do you like your gearless loc? Does it make the steering hard? I watched The Weather Channel all weekend hoping to get a glimpse of Rincon's saving the day in Florida. Hope Ivan is as kind to you as Francis was.

·
Registered
807 Posts