Honda Rincon Forum banner

1 - 20 of 43 Posts

·
Registered
424 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Okay, it's not a block heater, it's actually an inline coolant heater. The 375 watt element makes problematic winter startups a thing of the past. I've been using this contraption for the past three years.

I call it my chilldo.

·
Registered
424 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Notice my chilldo's odd shape and acute angles. Also notice the long power cord. Makes it real challenging to put it in. Well worth it though.

·
Registered
424 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Here I am holding my chilldo. This is right before I put it in. I'll get some pics up of the end result in a few days. If anyone has any questions, ask away.

·
Premium Member
5,619 Posts
Now we know why your engine last sooo long.Warm oil circulates faster than cold thick oil.
Care to tell us the brand?

Damn ATVTech, you are a genius !!

·
Premium Member
5,592 Posts
I saw something like that a couple years ago. Couldn't tell you where though.

·
Premium Member
5,592 Posts

·
Premium Member
350 Posts
I understand ATVTech how a block heater in a car works keeping the antifreeze in the water jackets warm thus the metal of the block. Since the thermostat is closed & the antifreeze not circulating do you feel its warming back to the jackets in the single cylinder jackets of the Rincon? I assume it must be working if you used it for 3 years.

·
Registered
64 Posts
Quote: "Since the thermostat is closed & the antifreeze not circulating do you feel its warming back to the jackets in the single cylinder jackets of the Rincon? I assume it must be working if you used it for 3 years."

With all due respect, I would think that the thermostat would open once the coolant adjacent to it reached operating temperature. Perhaps the coolant would flow by convection once the thermostat opened.