Honda Rincon Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just purchased a new 2005 Rincon. I live at 4300 elevation and will use it in the Kaibab mountains at 6000 to 9000 feet elevation. I will also use it in the desert of Tucson which is 1500 feet elevation. I can't seem to get a straight answer on jetting? Any suggestions or comments?

·
Registered
800 Posts
that is sure a big change in elevation,and having efi would sure help out there.i think efi will replace carbs more and more as time goes by. not sure when honda will try efi on a atv but others all ready have it. i would think you would have to rejet depending on were you wanted to go. not sure if this helps but just 1 guys view

·
Premium Member
3,621 Posts
I have no experience with them, but maybe you should look into a dial-a-jet system.

My .02 if you jet it for your home altitude and live with it being a little rich at the higher elevations, and maybe when you ride up high take the lid off of the air box to lean it out.
I would be afraid to jet it for high altitude then when you go low it would be way too lean and burn up the motor.

·
Premium Member
388 Posts
I'm no expert but I have recently re-jetted my carb and according to the Dynojet instructions you will need to re-jet/adjust depending on where you are riding. Apparently, a couple thousand feet makes a heck of a difference. The good news is that rejetting was a lot easier then I though it would be.

I was in Page, AZ a few years back, it is beautiful place. Lake Powell is awesome. Do you have a jet ski or a boat too?

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Thanks for the feedback. I'll get a service manual and study the re jetting procedure. I have a friend that has gone down one size from the factory setting and seems to be happy except for a slight loss of performance at the lower elevations.

Yes, I couldn't live here without a boat. It is a beautiful place and Lake Powell is awesome!