Honda Rincon Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
54 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I had the dealer do my first scheduled maintenance and I know they adjusted the valves at that time.

I just changed my oil, cleaned the oil filter and did all the other inspections needed for the second scheduled maintenance.

Is it really necessary to adjust the valves again at this time? I'm not a mechanic and will take it back to the dealer if it really needs done but don't want to spend the money if I don't need to.

John

·
Registered
84 Posts
The manual says every 100 hours or 600 miles, whichever comes first. It is not hard to do if you are mechanically inclined. Take the money you would spend at the dealer and buy a Honda service manual. Everything you need to know is in there.

·
Registered
75 Posts
I'm not the most mechanical fella around I just like to ride but one thing keeps puzzling me and that is the concern everyone here seems to have in having your atv's valve's adjusted after only a couple to a few hundred miles on the machine....I've always been one to believe that if it isn't broken why fix it....I have a 2000---300 TRX 4x4 and the bike has never seen a wrench and I never had anyone give her a tune up so I'm wondering now that my 2004 Rincon has 1000 miles on it and it sounds and runs really nice why I should change or feel any different with it.....

·
Registered
42 Posts
I agree with ya Liar and so does my dealer. He recommends adjusting the valves after the first 100 miles and then every 1200 - 1400 miles unless the bike starts acting up or not running right. I have him adjust the valves too (he charged me $50.00) - just had it done at 1500 miles with no problems.

·
Registered
280 Posts
valves do not need adjusted unless they are ticking. they can be checked regularly (which BTW is what the dealers service dept. actually does since they